Roscrea Alphabetical Directory - Book of County Tipperary, 1889

About “The Book of County Tipperary,” 1889

George Henry Bassett produced 7 Irish county directories in the 1880s: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Kilkenny, Louth, Tipperary and Wexford. Each provides useful history of the respective counties as well as lists of office holders, farmers, traders, and other residents of the individual cities, towns and villages.

Read more »

The directories are naturally an invaluable resource for those tracing family history. The Book of County Tipperary is the first of these to be made available on, with its own search page. However, there are a few points to bear in mind.

  1. This online version is designed primarily as a genealogical research tool and therefore the numerous advertisements in the original book, many full page, and quite a few illustrated, have been excluded.
  2. The text has been proofed with due care, but with large bodies of text typographical errors are inevitably bound to occur.
  3. Be aware that there were often inconsistencies in spelling surnames in the 19th century and also that many forenames are abbreviated in Bassett’s directories.

With respect to the last point, surnames which today begin with the “Mc” prefix, for example, were often formerly spelt as “M‘,”. For a list of some of the more common forename abbreviations used in the directory, see Forename Abbreviations.

To enjoy the rich variety of advertisements, confirm accuracy of the entries, or have a printed record of a family member, obtain an original or facsimile copy of The Book of County Tipperary.

Show less


For names not found here see Ardcroney, Ballinderry, Ballingarry (Roscrea), Borrisokane, Carney, Carrigahorig, Clonakenny, Cloughjordan, Coolbawn, Curraguneen, Knock, Lorrha, Moneygall, Portland, Shinrone, Terryglass.

Bennett, Fred., Gorlmullen

Bennett Jas., Gortmullen

Benn, F. K., Ballygorteen

Benn, John, Ballygorteen

Benn, K., Ballygorteen

Benn, Richard, Derrymore

Bergin, Denis, Timeighter

Bergin, James, Camlin

Bergin, Patrick, Timeighter

Birch, Edw. R. (J.P.) Birchgrove

Birch, Mrs., Birchgrove

Birch, Wm., Monaincha

Brereton, Geo., Cloncrekin

Bridge, Edward, Rackethall

Bridge, Henry P., Dungar Park

Bridge, Joshua S.. Barnagree

Bridge, Mrs. K.. Mill Park

Bridge, Patten S., Cottage

Bridge, Vizer, Ivy Nook

Burns, Thomas, Benamore

Coghlan, John, Rosemary st

Cole, R. C., B’nakill, Dunkerrin

Corcoran, Ts., Honeym’t, Dunkerrin

Dann, Isaac, Camlin

Davis, Rt., Ballyhenry

Delaney, Thomas, Cloncrekin

Donovan, B., Ballygorteen

Donovan, T. (J.P.), The Hills

Doyle, Jas., Coolgarrane

Doyle, John, Rathnaveogue

Doyle, Ml., Rathnaveogue

Dudley, George, Clonakenny

Dwane, Cornls., Derrycallaghan

Dwyer, Joseph, Pintown

England. Jos., Corriga

Elly, Mrs., Rosemary st

Fawcett, High Park

Fawcett, George, Monte Video

Fawcett, Mrs. E., Monte Video

Flannery, Martin, Derrycallaghan

Fogarty, Wm., Glebe

Gavin, Thomas, Boola

Gavin, Wm., Boola

Geehan, Patrick, Kilkillahara

Grady, James, Borris

Griffith, Joseph (J.P.), Aghsmeer

Guidera, Ml., Kyleannagh

Guilmartin, Mrs. B., Ballystanly

Guilmartin, J., B’nakill, Dunkerrin

Hewson, James, Clonakenny

Hewson, Thomas, Orkneys

Hodgens, J. H.. Dangansalla

Hooley, Mrs., Lismacken

Jackson, Hy. V. (J.P.), Inane

Jackson, John, Camlin

Jackson, Thos., Cloverhill

Kealy, Denis, Ballycrine

Keehan, J., Irby, Dunkerrin

Keehan, Wm., Lisglenbeha

Kennedy, Bartley, Kilkillahara

Kenny, Robert, Moatquarter

Lewis, G., B’nakill, Dunkerrin

Lowry, Patrick, Glentara

Perry, Arthur, Cedar Hill

McDonnell, John, Bleakfield

McDonnell, John, Cloneen

McGrath, John, Kilkillahara

Mackey, James, Honeymount

Madden, Wm., Oldcastle

Maher, Cornelius, Pintown

Maher, James, Benamore

Maher, J., jun., Ballynough

Maher, John, Bawn’drum

Maher, John, Bawn’drum N

Maher, John, jun., Scart

Maher, Mrs. Mt., Clonan

Maher, Matthew, Annaghmeadle

Maher, Patrick, Derrymore

Maher, T., Rathnaveogue L

Maher, Wm., Bawn’drum N

Mara, Ml., Boolabaun

Mason, Wm., Derrylahan

Maxwell, M., Glen Albert

Meara, Jno., Gorteenashingaun

Medlin, Geo. A., Lowlands

Mitchell, Geo., Mount Butler

Moore, T., Gorteenashingaun

Moylan, Martin, Ballycrine

Moylan, Stephen, Behaghglass

Mullally, John, Rathnaveogue U

Murphy, Mrs. Mt., Streamstown

Murphy, P., Quakerstown, Dunkerrin

Neagle, Carroll, Glenbeha

O’Byrne, Count John, Corville

Parr, John, Aghsmear

Powell, Mrs. E., Parkmore

Pratt, Geo., Camblin

Pratt, Henry, Aghsmear

Purviss, Stewart, The Leap

Quinlan, Dl. B’nakill, Dunkerrin

Quinlan, John, Camlin

Quinlan, Patrick, Boolabaun

Quinlan, Thomas, Derrymore

Read, Turner O. (J.P.), Dungar Pk

Rhodes, Arthur, Main st

Rhodes, Richd. F., Main st

Roe, Geo., Loran Park

Roe, Robert, jun., Behaghglass

Roe, Robert (J.P.), Loran Park

Ryan, J., Quakerstown, Dunkerrin

Ryan, Joseph, Camlin

Rudd, Mrs., The Abbey

Sheady, P., B’nakill, Dunkerrin

Smallman, Mrs. E., Main st

Smith, Sydney E.. Ashbury

Smith, Wm., Boolabaun

Standish, Robert, Ballykelly

Sutton, Ml., B’nakill, Dunkerrin

Tierney, James, Clonakenny

Troy, John, Loughpark

Vaughan, W. P. H. L. (J.P.), Goldengro

Wall, Henry, Lismackin

Wallace, J., Shanballynaha

Wallace, R., Bawnmadrum

Wallace, K., B’nakill, Dunkerrin



Letters addressed to residents of a sub-postal district should bear the name of the head office thus, Coolbawn, Roscrea.