Tipperary Alphabetical Directory - Book of County Tipperary, 1889

About “The Book of County Tipperary,” 1889

George Henry Bassett produced 7 Irish county directories in the 1880s: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Kilkenny, Louth, Tipperary and Wexford. Each provides useful history of the respective counties as well as lists of office holders, farmers, traders, and other residents of the individual cities, towns and villages.

Read more »

The directories are naturally an invaluable resource for those tracing family history. The Book of County Tipperary is the first of these to be made available on libraryireland.com, with its own search page. However, there are a few points to bear in mind.

  1. This online version is designed primarily as a genealogical research tool and therefore the numerous advertisements in the original book, many full page, and quite a few illustrated, have been excluded.
  2. The text has been proofed with due care, but with large bodies of text typographical errors are inevitably bound to occur.
  3. Be aware that there were often inconsistencies in spelling surnames in the 19th century and also that many forenames are abbreviated in Bassett’s directories.

With respect to the last point, surnames which today begin with the “Mc” prefix, for example, were often formerly spelt as “M‘,”. For a list of some of the more common forename abbreviations used in the directory, see Forename Abbreviations.

To enjoy the rich variety of advertisements, confirm accuracy of the entries, or have a printed record of a family member, obtain an original or facsimile copy of The Book of County Tipperary.

Show less


For names not found here see Aherlow, Annacarty, Bansha, Cappawhite, Clonbrick, Cullen, Donohill, Emly, Galbally, Glenbane, Hollyford, Kilcommon, Kilross, Lattin, Limerick Junction, Milestone, Monard, Rathkea, Rearcross and Shronell.

Armstrong, Mrs., Henry st

Barron, Patrick, Bohercrowe

Bell, Robt. P., Pegsborough

Bishop, Philip, Kilfeacle

Blackburne, Jno., Coolnaherin

Bourke, John, Greenrath

Bourke, Thomas, Bohervendrum

Brien, John, Reddanswalk

Brien, Wm., Ballynilard

Butler, Ml., Garryduff, Oola

Butler, Richard, Tipperary

Butler, Thomas, Fawnagowna

Chambers, John, Ballynilard

Cleary, Miss T., Derby ter

Cleary, Thos., K’ballynoe W

Coman, Geoffrey, Kilfeakle

Connell, Patrick, Clonpet

Corboy, James, Friarsfield

Corboy, John, Stokaun

Corboy, Patrick John, Newtown

Cranitch, Mathew, Newtown

Cranley, John, Bohercrowe

Cronin, John, Ballinilard

Cross, Thos., Garranacanty

Cummins, John, Ballyhusty

Cummins, Wm, Sadlierswells

D’Alton, Mrs. H., Galtee View

Dalton, Richard, Ballinilord

Davern, Michael, Ballyhusty

Delaney, Andrew, Ballynilard

Delaney, Matthew, Clonpet

Delaney, Nichls., Rathnaveen O

Devereux, Geo., K’inrawley

Dillon, John, Breanshabeg

Doherty, Edm., Lackentedane

Doherty, John, Breanshamore

Doherty, Ml., Ballyhusty

Doherty, Rd., Knockinrawley

Doherty, Ty., Lackentedane

Donovan, Matt., Clashalaher

Dwyer, Connor, Kilfeakle

Dwyer, James, Bohercrow

Dwyer, John, Ardloman

Dwyer, Jos., Mount Bruis

Dwyer, Ml., Breanshamore

Dwyer, Michael, Kilfeakle

Eaton, Wm., Sandymount

English, James, Sollohedbeg

English, Ml., Bridge st

Fanning, John, Lacken

Fitzgerald, —, Henry st

Fogarty, Dd., Moatquarter

Fogarty, Thos., Kilfeakle M

Frewin, Jerh., Barronstown

Glasheen, Jas., Garranacanty

Glasheen, Rd., jun., G’knockeare

Godfry, Jas., Reddanswalk

Godfry, Thos., Clonmorewalk

Godfry, Wm., Clonmorewalk

Grant, Edm., Sadleirswells

Guinan, —, Reddinswalk

Hanly, Edm., Shanballymore

Hayes, Lce., Ballynilard

Hayes, Thomas, Murgasty

Hayes, Timothy, Raheen up

Heffernan, E., sen., Reddanswalk

Heffeman, Edm., Reddanswalk

Hennessy, Roger, Gotinstown

Herr, Nichl., G’knockeare

Herr, Patrick, Friarsfield

Heuston, Rt. B., Gotinstown

Hodges, Mrs., St. Ml. st

Hogan, Denis, jun., Bohercrowe

Hogan, Edmond, Knockinrawley

Hogan, James, Stokaun

Hogan, Patrick, Grenane

Hogan, Wm., Grantstown

Honan, James, Ballyhurst

Hunt, Vere D. U., B’kasteen

Kelly, John, Coolnagun

Kelly, Wm., Coolnagun

Kenny, John, Mount Bruis

Kennane, James, Ardloman

Kiely, Thomas, Ardloman

Kinane, Jas., Corrogemore

Kinnane, M., G’knockeare

Lahy, Jas., Gortnakeare

Lahy, Timothy, Rathnaveen R

Leahy, Ml., Rathnaveen R

Leahy, Patk., 31 Main st

Loobey, Michael, Camea

Lonergan, Connor, Kilfeakle

Lowe, F. W. (J.P.), Kilshane

Lowry, Patrick, Fawnagowan

McCarthy, J., Barronstown O

McCormack, Patrick, Lisheen

McCormack, Thomas, Lisheen

McCurtain, Patrick, Corrogemore

McDonnell, John, 29 Main st

McKeogh, James, Sollohedbeg

Maher, Edward, Kilfeakle

Maher, Matthew, Ballynilard

Massy, Major H. W. (J.P.), G'town

Massy, John (J.P.), Kingswell Ho.

Massy, W. G. D. (J.P.), G’town

Merrigan, John, Bohercrowe

Merrigan, Wm., jun., G’gowlane

Moloney, John, Ballynahow

Moloney, Stn., Ballinleinty

Moloney, Wm., Ballynilard

Moloney, Wm., Barronstown L

Moore, Count Arthur, Mooresfort

Morrissy, J., Barronstown O

Mulcahy, James, Murgasty

Mulcahy, J. H., Ballyglass U

Neill, John, Barronstown L

Neill, John, Barronstown

O’Brien, Cornelius, Templenoe

O’Brien, Patrick, Templenoe

O’Leary, Mrs. Mt., Derby ter

O’Ryan, John, Ballyhursty

O’Ryan, Ml., L.P.S., Henry st

Pearson, E. S., K’ballynoe E

Prendergast, Geoffrey, Clonpet

Prendergast, Thos., Ballinleinty

Power, Lce., Coolnagun

Quillinan, Edm., Raheen U

Quillinan, James, Raheen U

Quillinan, Patrick, Carron

Quirke, John, Clonpet

Quirke, Patk., Sadleirswells

Rankins, Stephen, Kilfeakle

Rourke, John, Grantstown

Reardon, Jeremiah, Ardloman

Ryan, James, Ballyhusty

Ryan, John, Ballynahow

Ryan, James, Bohercrowe

Ryan, John, Camea

Ryan, John, Carron

Ryan, John, Rathnaveen R

Ryan, John, Templenoe

Ryan, Mrs. A., B’crowe Ho

Ryan, Thomas, Templenoe

Ryan, Thomas, Lacken

Ryan, Wm., Ballinleinty

Sadleir, Henry, Scallaheen

Sadleir, James, Brookville Ho

Sadleir, James, Ballydonagh

Sadleir, Misses, Scallaheen Ho

Sadleir, Mrs., Carrowclough

Sheehy, Jno., Garranacanty

Sinclair, Isaac, Corrogebeg

Smithwick, John, cottage

Sullivan, Ptk., Grantstown

Thompson, T., Kilfeakle M

Toomy, Michael, Drumclieve

Townsend, H. H., C’dangan Manor

Treacy, Denis, Sollohedbeg

Treacy, Thomas, Sollohedbeg

White, Newport, Greenrath

Wilkinson, Rd., Ballinahow



Letters addressed to residents of a sub-postal district should bear the name of the head office, thus: Cullen, Tipperary.