Donohill, Tipperary - Book of County Tipperary, 1889

About “The Book of County Tipperary,” 1889

George Henry Bassett produced 7 Irish county directories in the 1880s: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Kilkenny, Louth, Tipperary and Wexford. Each provides useful history of the respective counties as well as lists of office holders, farmers, traders, and other residents of the individual cities, towns and villages.

Read more »

The directories are naturally an invaluable resource for those tracing family history. The Book of County Tipperary is the first of these to be made available on, with its own search page. However, there are a few points to bear in mind.

  1. This online version is designed primarily as a genealogical research tool and therefore the numerous advertisements in the original book, many full page, and quite a few illustrated, have been excluded.
  2. The text has been proofed with due care, but with large bodies of text typographical errors are inevitably bound to occur.
  3. Be aware that there were often inconsistencies in spelling surnames in the 19th century and also that many forenames are abbreviated in Bassett’s directories.

With respect to the last point, surnames which today begin with the “Mc” prefix, for example, were often formerly spelt as “M‘,”. For a list of some of the more common forename abbreviations used in the directory, see Forename Abbreviations.

To enjoy the rich variety of advertisements, confirm accuracy of the entries, or have a printed record of a family member, obtain an original or facsimile copy of The Book of County Tipperary.

Show less

Donohill, in the parish of same name, consists of half a dozen houses, 4 miles, Irish, north by east from Tipperary. It is a good grazing district. Within view of the post-office, on the farm of Mr. Jerh. Horan, there is a curious conical moat of considerable height with the fragment of a building near the top. It is attributed to the Danes.

Catholic Ch.: Rev. John Fennelly, P.P.

Grocers and Spirit Retailers: Andrew Corbett, Pat Ryan

National League: W. Allis, sec.

Post Mr.: Edmond Ryan

School Nl.: Jas. Power, Mrs. J. Power


Allis, Wm., Gortnacoolagh

Breen, Dl., Farranaclara

Breen, Jas., Lisheendarby

Breen, Thos., Moandoheragh

Bryan, C., Knockgorman

Cranley, Ty., Gotnacoolagh

Connors, Mrs. M., Shan'more

Corbett, WaIter, Sollohedbeg

Coroboy, Ptk., Garryshane

Cross, John, Ballinvassa

Cross, Wm., Ballyrobin

Doherty, Dl. Sollohedbeg

Doherty, Edm., Garryshane

Doherty, Ptk., Pallas

Doherty, Wm., Sollohedbeg

Doherty, Wm., Alleen Hogan

Duhy, Mrs. J., Grange

Dwyer, Andrew, Churchfield

Dwyer, C., jun., Ballinvassa

Dwyer, Ml., Knockgorman

Dwyer, Mrs. C., B’vassa

Dwyer, Ptk., Ballydonagh

Fahey, Jas., Shandangan

Hanly, John, Sollohedbeg

Hanly, P., Donohill

Hanly, Timothy, Lisobehane

Heffernan, Mrs. M., B’rickand

Horan, Jeremiah, Moatquarter

Kelly, Daniel, Alleen Hogan

Kelly, Denis J., Alleen Hogan

Kelly, Mrs. B., Alleen

Kelly, Mrs. B., S’dangan

Kelly, Thos., Alleen Hogan

Lahey, John, Pallas

Madden, Thomas, Ballinvassa

Maher, Jer., Moatquarter

Maher, Mrs. M., L’darby

Murray, Jas., Ballydonagh

O’Brien, Daniel, Pallas

Quinlan, Mrs. G., B’neal

Quirke, Ml., Pallas

Quirke, Ml., Sollohedbeg

Quirke, Edm., Gortenrigh

Quirke, Thos., Sollohedbeg

Ryan, Jas., Lisheendan

Ryan, Jas., Gortnacoolagh

Ryan, Miss J., Grange

Ryan, Mrs. B., B’donough

Ryan, Philip, Garryshane