Ecclesiastical Province of Dublin

The Ecclesiastical province of Dublin, over which the Archbishop presides, comprehends the dioceses of Dublin and Glendalough, Kildare, Ossory, Ferns, and Leighlin. It is entirely included in the civil province of Leinster, and is estimated to comprise an area of 1,827,250 acres. Under the Church Temporalities' Act (3rd and 4th of William IV., c. 37), on the next vacancy in the bishoprick of Kildare, that see is to be permanently united with Dublin and Glendalough; and in like manner the bishoprick of Ossory is to be permanently united with Ferns and Leighlin. The act also provides that, on the next avoidance of the see of Cashel, that archbishoprick is to be reduced to the rank of a bishoprick, and, together, with all its dependent sees, is to be suffragan to the Archbishop of Dublin, whose jurisdiction will then extend over the whole of Munster, the greater part of Leinster, and part of Galway in Connaught.

Full County and City of Dublin Index

Search Topographical Dictionary of Ireland »