Coleraine, County Derry

From the Belfast and Ulster Towns Directory for 1910

« Cloughmills | Contents | Next page »

Coleraine home | Public Institutions | Inhabitants


One of the most prosperous towns in the North of Ireland.
Has extensive distilleries and a weaving factory, also a shirt and collar factory.
It has one of the most important salmon fisheries in Ireland.
Market days are held on Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday.
Population about 7,000


—Telegraph and Telephone Office, Diamond—James M'Cormack, Postmaster. Telegraph and Telephone Office—Open on week-days from 8 a.m. till 8 p.m.; Sundays, 8 a.m. till 10-15 a.m. Telegrams—8 a.m. till 10 a.m. Sub-post Office (corner of Killowen street and Waterside)—William Mullan, sub-postmaster, Railway Place—Mrs. Sinclair, sub-mistress

Local Magistrates—-Colonel H. J. L. Bruce, Downhill; J. M. Anderson, Castlerock; T. G. Houston, Coleraine; Sir W. J. Baxter, Coleraine; John Murphy, Coleraine; A. Clarke, J.P., Ballysally House, Coleraine; H. T. Barrie, M.P., Manor House, Coleraine; R. Ferris, Coleraine; R. A. C. Montagu, Cromore; Major J. A. O. W. Torrens, D.L., Somerset; Patrick M'Gilligan, Coleraine; James M'Loughlin, Coleraine; General Beresford-Beresford, Craig-du-Varren; R. H. Giveen, Buncrana; Captain Welch, R.M., Maghera; H. A. Gribbon, Coleraine; Harpur Davison, Portrush; E. C. M'Loughlin, Carthall, Coleraine; C. J. Dempsey, Belfast

Coroner for the Town and Liberties and Half Barony—Dr. H. S. Morrison, Aghadowey, Coleraine

Urban District Council (Offices, Town Hall; Telephone No. 23)—Messrs. Jos. Irwin (chairman), John M'Donald, H. A. Gribbon, J.P.; Richard Hunter, James Kennedy, William Frederick Anderson, F. W. Crawford, Thomas Henry, jun.; Andrew M'Feeter, W. J. M'Kinney, jun.; W. W. Hill, Robert M'Candless, Oliver Paul, J. F. Glenn, F.A.I.; R. F. M'Cartney, and Samuel Kirkpatrick

Consulting Sanitary Officer—Dr. J. T. Creery

Harbour Board—(Office at the Quay; Telephone, No. 12; meets the second Monday in each month)—A. G. Crawford, R. H. Gilmore, James Kennedy, W. J. M'Kinney, J. M. Bamford, Sir W. J. Baxter, J.P.; J. T. Moon, Andrew Clarke, J.P.; H. A. Gribbon, J.P.; W. Abraham, J. S. Anderson, Joseph Irwin, Major Torrens, D.L. (chairman); Joseph Cochrane, Hugh L. Barrie, J.P., M.P. (vice-chairman); and S. R. Henry

Clerk to the Urban District Council and Secretary to the Harbour Commissioners—William Henry

Rate Collector for Urban District Council—J. J. Moody, Waterford place

Town Officer—T. G. Lynd, Springmount

Waterworks Inspector—J. Taylor, Abbey street

School Attendance Officer—William Knox, Clifton terrace

Government Veterinary Inspector at Coleraine Harbour—Richard H. Gilmore, M.R.C.V.S., Hanover place

Poor Rate Collectors for Rural District of Coleraine—Thomas Wray, Hanover place, Coleraine; R. A. Sinclair, Dundarg; John M'Millan, Inchaleen

Quarter Sessions—Held in January, April, June, and October in each year—Mr. T. G. Overend, K.C., County Court Judge; A. M. Munn, Clerk of the Peace for City of Derry and County

Petty Sessions—Every alternate Friday—James Hay, clerk; office, Adelaide avenue

Constabulary Barrack, Abbey Street—District-Inspector, Mr. Dobbyn; head-constable. Edward Durnan

Registrar of Marriages—James Hay

Registrar of Births, Marriages, and Deaths, Riverton—Dr. J. T. Creery; deputy registrar—James Lowry, Waverley terrace

Commissioner for Oaths by Married Women—J. Hay, petty sessions office, Adelaide avenue; Robert Mackey, New Row; S. A. Wray, solicitor, New Row

Notary Public—D. MacLaughlin, solicitor, Diamond

Coleraine Farming Society—Hon. secretary and treasurer, R. H. Gilmore, M.R.C.V.S.; secretary, J. J. Moody; hon. veterinary surgeon, R. H. Gilmore, M.R.C.V.S.

Coleraine Ploughing Society—President, J. W. Stewart, R.D.C., Boghill; secretaries, J. A. Craig, Woodview, and Alex. Boyd, Ballywindland; treasurer, John Morrow, R.D.C., Islandheaghey

Coleraine Traders' Association—Meets every Thursday evening in Town Hall, at 8 o'clock—President, Joseph Irwin, J.P.; secretary and treasurer, William Knox

Courthouse—Thomas Carson, keeper

Harbour Master and Weighbridge Clerk—Thomas Martin

Inspector of Explosives—Thos. G. Lynd

Trade Unions—Tailors', John Dinsmore, sec.; carpenters', James Moon, sec.; bakers', Henry Evans, sec.; Typographical Association, Joseph Neill, sec.

Football League—Samuel Steen, Killowen street, sec.

Bowling Club—Green, Lodge road—S. A. Wray, president; Richard Hunter, vice-president; Wm. Knox, hon. sec.

Home Industries Society—Shows held biennially—W. Knox, secretary

Badminton Club—Presidents, Mrs. Lyle and Mrs. Hezlett; sec.. Miss Mary Giveen; treasurer, R. Leech

Orange Lodges Nos. 5, 316, 355, and 735 meet in Brook Street Schools; 930. Killowen Orange Hall. District Lodge meets last Monday of each quarter. R.B. Preceptories 37 and 39 meet in Brook Street Schools

Coleraine Musical Society—Conductor, W. de Pauley; hon. secretary and treasurer, C. Houston, Ulster Bank; pianist, Miss G. Murphy; librarian, Jack L. Bamford

St. Patrick's Bellringers' Society—President, Rev. Canon Dudley; secretary and treasurer, James Bishop, Diamond


Church of Ireland—Rev. Canon Dudley, M.A., rector; Rev. Mr. Smith, curate.
Killowen Parish Church, Killowen St.—Rev. W. H. Giles, B.A., rector
First Presbyterian Church, Abbey Street.
Second Presbyterian Church, New Road—Rev. W. A. Wilson, M.A.
Third Presbyterian Church, Terrace Row—Rev. R. B. Wylie, LL.D.
Baptist Chapel, Abbey Street—Pastor Freeman
Congregational Church, New Row—Rev. W. G. Davis
Salvation Army—Hall, Long Commons—11 a.m., 3 and 7 p.m.
Wesleyan Methodist Church—Circular Road—Rev. Mr. Budd
St. Malachy's Roman Catholic Chapel, Chapel Square—Rev. P. Magill. P.P., and Rev. J. O'Rafferty, C.C., curates
St. John's Roman Catholic Chapel, Killowen St.—Rev. M. Connery, P.P.; curate, Rev. F. O'Neill

Coleraine home | Public Institutions | Inhabitants

« Cloughmills | Contents | Next page »

data-matched-content-rows-num="1" data-matched-content-columns-num="4"