RATHGORMUCK, or RATHCORMUCK, a parish, in the barony of UPPERTHIRD, county of WATERFORD, and province of MUNSTER, 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Carrick-on-Suir; containing 2252 inhabitants. This parish, which takes its name from an ancient rath, is situated on the confines of the county of Tipperary, and contains a constabulary police station. It is a vicarage, in the diocese of Lismore, forming part of the union of Mothell; the rectory is impropriate in the Duke of Devonshire.

The tithes amount to £408. 7. 6. of which £241. 4. is payable to the impropriator, and £167. 3. 6. to the vicar.

In the R. C. divisions it is part of the union of Mothell, or Rathgormuck, and contains a chapel. About 10 children are taught in a school supported by an annual donation from Lady Osborne; and there are two private schools, in which are about 130 children.

Search Topographical Dictionary of Ireland »