Thurles Alphabetical Directory - Book of County Tipperary, 1889

About “The Book of County Tipperary,” 1889

George Henry Bassett produced 7 Irish county directories in the 1880s: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Kilkenny, Louth, Tipperary and Wexford. Each provides useful history of the respective counties as well as lists of office holders, farmers, traders, and other residents of the individual cities, towns and villages.

Read more »

The directories are naturally an invaluable resource for those tracing family history. The Book of County Tipperary is the first of these to be made available on, with its own search page. However, there are a few points to bear in mind.

  1. This online version is designed primarily as a genealogical research tool and therefore the numerous advertisements in the original book, many full page, and quite a few illustrated, have been excluded.
  2. The text has been proofed with due care, but with large bodies of text typographical errors are inevitably bound to occur.
  3. Be aware that there were often inconsistencies in spelling surnames in the 19th century and also that many forenames are abbreviated in Bassett’s directories.

With respect to the last point, surnames which today begin with the “Mc” prefix, for example, were often formerly spelt as “M‘,”. For a list of some of the more common forename abbreviations used in the directory, see Forename Abbreviations.

To enjoy the rich variety of advertisements, confirm accuracy of the entries, or have a printed record of a family member, obtain an original or facsimile copy of The Book of County Tipperary.

Show less


For names not found here, see Ballycahill, Ballynonty, Bouladuff, Drombane, Grange, Gurtnahoe, Holycross, Horse and Jockey, Killenaule, Littleton, New Birmingham, The Commons, Two-Mile-Borris, Upperchurch, and Urlingford.

Bannon, Thomas, Brittas road

Barry, Dr. Ml. J., Turtulla Ho

Benson, John, Turtulla

Bohan, John, Ballycahill

Bourke, John, Tureen

Bourke, Mrs., Lewaghmore, Dovea

Bourke, Laurence, The Heath

Bray, Misses, Main st

Brereton, John, Turtulla

Britt, Timothy, Moyaliffe

Burke, Denis, Gortaniddan

Burke, Mrs. Mt., Leughmore

Cahill, Mrs. E., Rathmana Ho

Cahill, Mrs. M., Quarry st

Cahill, William, Quarry st

Callanan, John, jun., Ardbawn

Callinane, Con, Lewaghmore

Callinane, Wm., Racecourse

Cambie, David L., Stradavoher

Carew, Wm., Sheskin

Carroll, Ml., Bohernamona

Carroll, Patrick, Newtown

Cass, Wm., Main st

Cleary, Con, The Furze

Coffey, Jerh.. Holycross rd

Condon, J., Bohernamona

Connell, Wm., Galbooly

Cooke, John D. (J.P.), Brownst’n

Cooney, Thomas, Lisduff

Corcoron, Wm., The Heath

Cormack, Edm., Knockeen

Cormack, John, Commons

Crone, Thomas, Furze

Cushin, Philip, Piercetown

Curry, John, Garryvickleheen

D’Alton, J. P., The Mall

D’Alton, Mrs. M., Rossestown

Daly, Patrick, Moyaliffe

Doolan, James, Friar st

Duggan, T., Longford pass N

Dwane, Roger, Lisnaganogue

Dwyer, Mrs. E., Quarry st

Dwyer, Michael, Moyaliffe

Dwyer, Philip, Commons

Dwyer, Thos.. Commons House

Egan, Denis. Mullauns

Elliott, W. H., Railway Cottage

Everard, Thomas, Knockauns

Fogarty, James, Grange

Fogarty, John, Kilrush

Fogarty, Mrs. J., Cathedral st

Fogarty, Miss E., Cathedral st

Fogarty, Michael, Laharden

Fogarty, Michael, Brittas road

Flinn, John, Rahealty

Flinn, John, Moynetemple

Gleeson, John, Kilrush

Gorman. Michael, Lisduff

Grady, Edmond, Moycarkey

Grady, William, Knockakelly

Guyder, Dl. (P.R.C.), Rockford Ho.

Hackett, Mrs., Piercetown

Hackett, John, Clongower

Hackett, Thomas, Clongower

Hanly, Wm. P. (J.P.), Cottage

Hayes, James, New st

Hayes, John, Friar st

Hayes, Wm., Bawnanattin

Hickey, Patrick, Rahealty

Hickey, Thomas, Longfordpass N

Jackman. Benjm., Cathedral st

Jordan, Wm., Railway Cottage

Kavanagh, Mrs., Rossestown

Kennedy, Joseph, Ballycahill

Keogh, Patrick, Rahealty

Kirwan, Patrick, Main st

Kirwan, Edwd., Main st

Kirwan, Rd.. Main st

Knox, Col. Wm., Brittas Castle

Knox, Fitzroy, Brittas Castle

Lahy, Edward, Cabragh

Lahy, Michael, Cabragh

Langley, Henry, Archerstown Ho

Lenigan, J. V. R., Castlefogarty Ho

Long, Edw., Annfield, Dovea

Lyons, Thomas, Turtulla

McMahon, Ml., Monatierna

Mackey, James, Ballycahill

Maher, Cornelius, Killinane

Maher, Daniel, Ballycahill

Maher, John, Turtulla

Maher, Miss M., Main st

Maher, Matthew, Killinane

Maher, Philip, jun., Ballycahill

Maher, Pierse, Killough

Maher, Thomas, Moneydass

Maher, Thomas, Galbooly

Maher, Timothy, Brittas

Manning, James, College lane

Meara, Patrick, Bohernamona

Mockler, Frank, Grange

Mockler, John, Grange

Mockler, Thomas, Gortataggart

Molloy, Chas. J., Beakstown

Molloy, Richard, Newtown

Morriss, William, Longfordpass

Murray, Patrick, Rossestown

O’Brien, James, Drombane

O’Brien, J. B., Ardford House

O’Brien, Wm., Drumbane

O’Carroll, Philip, Liscahill Ho

O’Flanagan, Edm., Thurles

O’Neill, Henry, Shanballyduff

Power, Miss E., Gaol st

Power, Michael, Kyle

Prendergast, Lt. Col. A., Llandaff L

Power, Maurice, West Gate

Purcell, Mrs., Lisaroon

Quinn, Mrs. E., Quarry st

Quinn, John, Lisduff

Rahill, Martin, Grange

Russell, Edmond, Killeenvarda

Russell, Michael, Ballyduagh

Russell, Patrick, Athnidmore

Russell, Richard, Kilclonagh

Ryan, Daniel, Loughbeg

Ryan, Daniel, Knockurra

Ryan, George E. (D.I..), Inch Ho

Ryan, James, Corbally

Ryan, John M., Main st

Ryan, Miss M., Gaol st

Ryan, Mrs., Knockane

Ryan, Richard, Knockane

Shaw, Sl., Beakstown

Sweeny, Michael, Garranroe

Sweeny, James, Shanballyduff

Twumy, Michael, Garranroe

Trant, Lt. Col. F. (D.L.). Dovea



Letters addressed to residents of a sub-postal district should bear the name of the head office, thus: Holycross, Thurles.