Cashel Alphabetical Directory - Book of County Tipperary, 1889

About “The Book of County Tipperary,” 1889

George Henry Bassett produced 7 Irish county directories in the 1880s: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Kilkenny, Louth, Tipperary and Wexford. Each provides useful history of the respective counties as well as lists of office holders, farmers, traders, and other residents of the individual cities, towns and villages.

Read more »

The directories are naturally an invaluable resource for those tracing family history. The Book of County Tipperary is the first of these to be made available on, with its own search page. However, there are a few points to bear in mind.

  1. This online version is designed primarily as a genealogical research tool and therefore the numerous advertisements in the original book, many full page, and quite a few illustrated, have been excluded.
  2. The text has been proofed with due care, but with large bodies of text typographical errors are inevitably bound to occur.
  3. Be aware that there were often inconsistencies in spelling surnames in the 19th century and also that many forenames are abbreviated in Bassett’s directories.

With respect to the last point, surnames which today begin with the “Mc” prefix, for example, were often formerly spelt as “M‘,”. For a list of some of the more common forename abbreviations used in the directory, see Forename Abbreviations.

To enjoy the rich variety of advertisements, confirm accuracy of the entries, or have a printed record of a family member, obtain an original or facsimile copy of The Book of County Tipperary.

Show less


For names not found here, see Ballagh, Boherlahan, Clonoulty, Dundrum, Golden, Gooldscross, and Rossmore.

Ashmore, Jas. A., Lr. Gate

Harrington, Mrs., Maryville

Barry, Thomas, Ballycamusk

Bergin, Thos., Monameigh

Bowe, Michael, Mocklershill

Breen, John, Camus

Breen, Laurence, Lisheenbeg

Breen, Thomas, Ballynahinch

Brien, Wm., Nodstown

Brown, Miss, Fort Edward

Buckley, Michael, Camus

Burke, John, Clareen

Cashin, Wm., jun., Deansgrove

Connors, Michael, Rathcowan

Cleary, John, Shanballyduff

Cooper, Austin, Killenure

Croagh, Wm., Caherbawn

Crowley, Edm., Ballynahinch

Cusack, Paul, Mountjudkins

Darmody, James, Waller’s Lot

Darmody, John, Rathordan

Delany, John, Clonmore N

Devereux, Paul, Kilpeak

Devitt, Jno., Shanballyduff

Doherty, Ml., Ballynahinch

Donnell, Patrick, Kilconnell

Downey, P., Ballyfowloo

Downey, Thomas, Deansgrove

Dunphy, Michael, Garranmore

Dwyer, James, Kilshenane

Dwyer, John, Thurlesbeg

Dwyer, Michael, Bawnmore

Dwyer, Michael, Kilshenane

Dwyer, Stephen, Bawnmore

Dwyer, Thomas, Lisloran

English, John, Lalor’s Lot

English, Wm., Green

Feehan, John, The Green

Fennessy, Patrick, Rathordan

Fitzgerald, Wm., Freaghduff

Fogarty, Patk., Bawnmore

Foley, James, Rathcowan

Gleeson, Thomas, Clooneyharp

Gorman, Michael, Gortmakellis

Grace, Mrs., Hill Ho

Grady, John, Gaile

Grady, Thomas, Kilshenane

Griffin, Thos., Friar st

Grogan, J. Shanballyduff

Guilfoyle, Denis, Kilshenane

Hackett, Rev. Jno., Clonmel rd

Hanly, Daniel, Ballinree

Hanly, James, Green

Hartigan, M. J. (J.P.), Deerpark

Hayes, Matthew, Kilshenane

Hayes, Matthew, Kilbreedy

Hayes, William, Clareen

Heffernan, Cornelius, Garraun

Heffernan, Edmond, Rathordan

Heney, Denis, F’managh

Heney, James, Ballynahinch

Heney, James, Rock View

Heney, Patrick, Ballyfowloo

Hennessy, Patrick, Templenoe

Herr, Martin, Shanballyduff

Hickey, Philip, Templenoe

Higgins, Thos., Ballykelly

Johnson, Wm., Farranavarra

Keeffe, Michael, Camus

Keeffe, Patrick, Garranmore

Keevan, Thos., Clonmore N.

Kelly, Denis, Ballynahinch

Kennedy, James, Biggs’ Lot

Kissane, John, Green

Lee, David, Freaghduff

Looby, John, Green

Looby, Maurice, Hughes’ Lot

Looby, Thomas, Hughes’ Lot

Looby, William, Ballytarsna H

M‘Grath, John, Mocklershill

Maher, Nicholas, Shruhane

Maher, Patrick, Thurlesbeg

Maher, Pierce, Saulsquarter

Maher, Stephen, Thurlesbeg

Maher, Timothy, Freighduff

Mansergh, Daniel, Clonmore north

Moloney, Daniel, Thurlesbeg

Moloney, J., Ballynahinch

Moloney, Wm., Clonmore

Moloughney, M., Ballyfowloo

Montford, The Misses, St. Dominick’s Abbey

Morrissey, John, Rathordan

Morrissey, Thomas, Kilsallagh

Mulcahy, Thomas, Ballyheens

Mullins, William, Main st

Murphy, Wm. (J.P.), Ballinamona

Myres, John, Freighduff

Nicholson, George, Ballysheehan

O’Brien, William, Farranavara

O’Heney, James, Brittas

O’Meara, Mrs., Main st

Payne, Arthur J., Ballywalter

Peacock, John, John st

Phelan, James P., Friar st

Phelan, Patrick, John st

Phillips, Edward, Thurlesbeg

Philips, Richard (J.P.), Gaile

Price, Thomas E., Ardmayle

Price, Thomas, jun., Coleraine

Purtill, Edmond, Brickendown

Quinlan, Edmond, Suirmount

Quinn, Patrick, Freaghduff

Quirke, Daniel, Ballycamusk

Quirke, George, Ballycamusk

Quirke, Thomas, Pubblehill

Rawlins, Wm. H., Knockbritt

Realie, Samuel, Corcoran’s Hotel

Ryall, George, Ballykelly

Ryall, William, Newpark

Ryan, James, Ballypaddeen

Ryan, James, Nodstown

Ryan, James, Thurlesbeg

Ryan, John, Cooper’s Hill

Ryan, John, Rathclough north

Ryan, Matthew, Kilmore

Ryan, Michael, Ballydine

Ryan, Patrick, Camus

Ryan, Thomas, Aughnagomaun

Ryan, Timothy, Rathordan

Scanlan, T., Aughnagomaun

Scanlan, Thos., Gaile

Scully, Major E., Clonbynane

Shanahan, L., Ballycamusk

Shine, Roger, H. (J.P.), Camus pk

Thompson, Geo., Kilmore

Wilson, William, John st

Wood, Thomas, John st

Woodlock, John, Shanballyduff



Letters addressed to residents of a sub-postal district should bear the name of the head office, thus: Dundrum, Cashel.