Cookstown, County Tyrone

From the Belfast and Ulster Towns Directory for 1910

« Comber | Contents | Next page »

Cookstown Institutions | Inhabitants | District Inhabitants


Fifty-three miles from Belfast.
One of the most flourishing towns in Co. Tyrone.
Chief industry is Linen.
It also has a large trade in Agricultural Produce.
Market days every Tuesday and Saturday.
Population, 3,531


—Telegraph and Money Order Office and Savings Bank, James street (Head Office).
Open daily (Sundays and Good Friday and Christmas Day excepted) for transaction of postal business from 8 a.m. till 8 p.m.; for issue and payment of money orders and for savings bank purposes, 8 a.m. till 8 p.m.; for issue of postal orders, 8 a.m. til! 8 p.m.; for payment of postal orders, 8 a.m. till 8 p.m.; for telegraph business, 8 a.m. till 8 p.m. Sundays, for postal and Telegraphic business, from 8 a.m. till 10 a.m. Mrs. W. J. Glasgow, postmistress


First Presbyterian Church, James Street—Rev. Thomas Glass, B.A., minister
Second Presbyterian Church, Loy Street—Rev. Alex. Simms, B.A., minister
Third Presbyterian Church, Molesworth St.—Rev. John Entrican, B.A., minister
Morning service each Sabbath at 12 noon; united evening service at 7 p.m.
United Prayer Meeting on Wednesday evening at 8 p.m., on premises where the Sunday evening service for month is held
Ballygoney Presbyterian Church—Rev. J. J. Wright, B.A., minister
Claggan Presbyterian Church—Rev. George Bell Shaw, minister
Orritor Presbyterian Church—Rev. Kennedy Adams, B.A., minister
Sandholes Presbyterian Church—Rev. J. W. Aiken, minister
Church of Ireland—
Derryloran Parish Church—Rev. F. M. Moeran, M.A., rector; Rev. J. M. Jennins, B.A., curate
Morning service each Sunday at 11-30 a.m.; evening service at 7 p.m.
Ardtrea Parish Church—Rev. C. L. Garnett, A.M., rector
Desertcreat Parish Church—Rev. J. Richey, A.M., rector
Kildress Parish Church—Rev. J. M. Young, A.B., rector
Lissan Parish Church—Rev. C. A. B. Millington, B.A., rector
Roman Catholic—
Parish of Derryloran and Desertcreat—Very Rev. Canon Rice, P.P.; Rev. F. Mackin, C.C.; Rev. John M'Laughlin
Parish of Kildress—Rev. J. O'Callaghan P.P.; Rev. M. M'Cullagh, C.C.; Rev. P. M'Pharland, C.C.
Parish of Lissan—Rev. B. O'Connor, P.P.
Methodist Church, Loy street—Rev. J. R. Clinton, minister
Independent Church, Donaghy—Rev. J. Gray
Reformed Presbyterian Meeting-house, Grange—Supplied by Presbytery
Gospel Hall, Moneymore road
Salvation Army Hall, Coagh Street


Hugh Adair, W. Anderson, Robert Burgess. M.D.; Right Hon. Earl Castlestuart D.L.; R. duff, Stewart Devlin, John Doris, S. E. Ekin, John Glasgow, T. Greer, T. MacGregor Greer, Robert Hassard, Colonel H. Irvine, William Leeper, Major Wm. Lenox-Conyngham, Captain E. L. B. Lowry, D.L.; S. R. Magill, H. Alfred Mann, J. B. Gunning-Moore, D.L.; Captain Moore Murphy, Patrick M'Kenna, John M'Nally, B. Quinn, James H. Staples, D.L.; Captain Francis Welch, R.M.
Petty Sessions are held in the Courthouse, Chapel street, on the second and fourth Friday of each month, at 11 a.m.—John W. Fleming, clerk; William Park, summons server
Royal Irish Constabulary Barrack, Loy street—J. R. Kingston, district inspector; James Finn, head constable; ex-officio inspector of weights and measures, Sergeant Fadden; inspector under the Food and Drugs Act, Constable Hayes; inspector of explosives, Constable Hayes


Academy, Cookstown—J. Rutledge, B.A., principal; J. O'Rourke and J. Collins, assistants
Ladies' School, Chapel Street—The Misses Houston, principals; Miss Stratton, Miss Boyle, Miss Hastie, Miss Small, and Miss Mackenzie, assistants
Cookstown N.S., Coagh Street (Male and Female)—John Thompson, B.A., principal; Mrs. Christie, assistant; Miss Thomson, second assistant
Derryloran N.S., Chapel Street (Male)—H. Wright, principal; T. J. Aitchison, assistant
Derryloran N.S., Chapel Street (Female)—Glenn, principal; Miss Goodwin, assistant
Gortalowry N.S., Chapel Hill—Miss Conlon, principal
Loy N.S., Chapel Street (Male)—Wm. Rice, principal; John M'Garvey, assistant
Loy N.S., Chapel Street (Female)—Sisters of Mercy, principals
Oldtown N.S., Waterloo Terrace (Male)—George Ramsay, principal; Robert Ebbitt, assistant
Oldtown N.S., Waterloo Terrace (Female)— Miss Lappin, principal; Miss Farrell, assistant


Belfast Banking Company, Ltd. (Branch), James St.—J. G. Donaldson, manager
Cookstown Joint Stock Company, Limited, James Street—R. Cousley, manager
Cookstown Loan Company, Ltd., Market Yard—Miss L. F. M'Cormick, manageress
Hibernian Bank, Limited (Branch), James Street—William Foley, manager
Ulster Bank, Limited (Branch), William St.—S. R. Magill, manager


Midland Railway (Northern Counties Committee) Terminus, Molesworth Street—Samuel Bryson, stationmaster
Great Northern Railway Company (Ireland) Terminus, Molesworth Street—Geo. R. Lavery, stationmaster
Surveyor of Taxes Office, Molesworth Street —E. G. Walker, surveyor; residence, Fairyburn, Cookstown
Excise Office, Molesworth Street—S. Henry, officer
Stamp Office, James Street—Mrs. Dinsmore, distributor
Marriage Registry Office, James St—Joseph Stewart, registrar; James Montgomery, deputy registrar
Cookstown Gas and Light Company, Ltd.—Works in Union Street—William Millar, manager; John W. Fleming, secretary. Board of Directors meets in Gas Co.'s Office on second Tuesday of each month. Tickets for tar, coke, and other residuals to be had from M'Vey Bros., Molesworth street
Cookstown Lime Company, Ltd.—Works off Old Coagh Rd.—William Millar, manager; John W. Fleming, secretary. Tickets to be had from M'Vey Bros., Molesworth street
Coroner for the Baronies of Dungannon—John Malone, solicitor
Commissioners for Taking Affidavits—J. D. Anderson and Wm. J. Harbison, both of William street
Markets, Tuesday and Saturday—Manager, H. Alfred Mann, J.P., agent; clerk, W. J. Lavery

Cookstown Institutions | Inhabitants | District Inhabitants

« Comber | Contents | Next page »