Modern Nobility of Dublin and Kildare

The following have been the noble families in the counties of Dublin and Kildare since the reign of King John:—

In Dublin:—As already explained, the De Lacys were lords of Meath and of a great part of Dublin. In the year 1384, Robert de Vere, Earl of Oxford, and Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, was created Marquis of Dublin and Duke of Ireland; and, in the present Royal Family of Great Britain and Ireland, some of the dukes of Cumberland were earls of Dublin. Talbot, a branch of the Talbots, earls of Shrewsbury, Waterford, and Wexford, have been celebrated families in Dublin and Meath, chiefly at Malahide and Belgard in the county Dublin; and were created barons of Malahide, and barons of Furnival: of these was Richard Talbot, the celebrated duke of Tyrconnell, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, under King James the Second.

The Plunkets, great families in Dublin, Meath, and Louth, were created barons of Killeen and earls of Fingal; and branches of them, barons of Dunsany in Meath, and barons of Louth; William Conyngham Plunket, formerly Lord Chancellor of Ireland, was created "Baron Plunket." Preston, viscounts Gormanstown, and some of them viscounts of Tara. St. Lawrence, earls of Howth. Barnwall, viscounts of Kingsland, and barons of Turvey; and also barons of Trimblestown in Meath. De Courcey, barons of Kilbarrock. Fitzwilliam, viscounts of Merrion. Rawson, viscounts of Clontarf. Beaumont, viscounts of Swords; the Molesworths, viscounts of Swords. Temple, viscounts Palmerstown or Palmerston. Treacy, viscounts of Rathcoole.

Patrick Sarsfield, the celebrated commander of the Irish forces under King James the Second, was created "Earl of Lucan;" and the Binghams are now earls of Lucan. The Marquis of Wharton, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, was created earl of Rathfarnham; and the family of Loftus, viscounts of Ely, were also earls of Rathfarnham. Luttrell, earls of Carhampton. Leeson, earls of Miltown. Harman, viscounts of Oxmantown (the name of an ancient district in the vicinity of Dublin); and the family of Parsons, earls of Rosse, in the King's County, are barons of Oxmantown. Wenman, barons of Kilmainham. Barry, barons of Santry. Caulfield, earls of Charlemont, resided until lately at Marino, Clontarf. Brabazon, earls of Meath, have extensive possessions in Wicklow and Dublin. And Thomas O'Hagan, of Dublin, Lord Chancellor of Ireland under the Gladstone Administration, was A.D. 1870, in the peerage of the United Kingdom, created "Baron O'Hagan."—See the "O'Hagan" pedigree.

In Kildare the following have been the noble families since the Anglo-Norman invasion: Fitzgerald, barons of Offaley, earls and marquises of Kildare, and dukes of Leinster. The title of "Earl of Leinster" was, A.D. 1659, borne by the family of Cholmondely; and the title of "Duke of Leinster" was, A.D. 1719, held by a descendant of Duke Schomberg. De Vesey or De Vesci, lords of Kildare and Rathangan. De Lounder, barons of Naas; Preston, also barons of Naas. St. Michael, barons of Rheban. FitzEustace, barons of Kilcullen in Kildare, of Portlester in Meath, and viscounts of Baltinglass in Wicklow. Bourke, barons of Naas, and earls of Mayo. Bermingham, barons of Carbery. Wellesley, barons of Narragh. Allen, viscounts of Allen in Kildare, and barons of Stillorgan in Dublin. Burgh, barons Down. Pomeroy, barons Harberton, and viscounts of Carbery. Agar, barons of Somerton, and earls of Normanton. Lawless, barons of Cloncurry. The barons De Roebeck. Moore, earls and marquises of Drogheda, and barons of Mellifont in Louth, reside at Monasterevan in Kildare. Scott, earls of Clonmel; and the family of Clements, earls of Leitrim, have seats in Kildare.