Envoys Plenipotentiary from the Republic of Ireland

Eleanor Hull
Volume Two, Appendix IV

To all to Whom These Presents Come, Greeting:

In virtue of the authority vested in me by Dail Eireann, I hereby appoint

Arthur Griffith, T.D., Minister of Foreign Affairs, Chairman;

Michael Collins, T.D., Minister of Finance;

Robert C. Barton, T.D., Minister for Economic Affairs;

Edmund J. Duggan, T.D.

George Gavan Duffy, T.D.

as Envoys Plenipotentiary from the Elected Government of the Republic of Ireland to negotiate and conclude on behalf of Ireland with the representatives of His Britannic Majesty, George V, a Treaty or Treaties of Settlement, Association and Accommodation between Ireland and the community of nations known as the British Commonwealth.

In Witness Whereof I hereunto subscribe my name as President.


Done in the City of Dublin this 7th day of October in the year of our Lord, 1921, in five identical originals.[1]


[1] Copy of the credentials handed to each of the five envoys sent to London by President de Valera. Printed in The Republic of Ireland (Poblacht na h-Eireann) on Wednesday April 12, 1922.