From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, 1837

OWEY, or WYE, an island, in the parish of TEMPLECROAN, barony of BOYLAGH, county of DONEGAL, and province of ULSTER, 5 miles (N.) from Rutland; containing 76 inhabitants. It forms one of the group of islands called the Rosses, situated off the north-western coast.

« Owenduffe | Index | Owning »