LOGAN, JOHN

(b. 1750, d. 1805)

Seal and Gem Engraver

From A Dictionary of Irish Artists 1913

Was born at Duncannon Fort, Co. Waterford, on 11th August, 1750. He learned his art in Dublin, and for many years was the principal seal engraver in the city, holding the appointment of "King's Seal-cutter." He lived at 11 Townsend Street from 1782 to 1784, at 42 Aungier Street until 1791, and afterwards at 6 Great George's Street and 10 Aungier Street. He retired from his profession in 1802, having injured his health by too close application to his work. He became mentally affected, and died in 1805. A "Portrait Gem of Dr. Lucas" and a "Head of Alexander the Great on white cornelian," by Logan, are mentioned in Farrer's "Biographical Dictionary of Medallists." A cameo portrait of "Dr. Quin" by Logan, taken from Mossop's medal, was reproduced by James Tassie in his glass paste.

« — Loder | Contents and Search | John St. John Long »

Abbreviations


Library Ireland Facebook